Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Radios For Dummys (BaoFeng UV-5R)

Alrighty,
    I dont have a clue about radios..... But its about time i started using coms with my mates when we go airsofting.
    I have looked and asked around and i was recommended the BaoFeng UV-5R more than any other one as a cheap radio thats good for beginners.
    However i still have no idea how they work or what im supposed to do.
    Really i just need someone to explain or point me in the direction of a video that explains how these radios work, if they only work with the same model or i can use them with my mates motorolas, kenwoods, etc, and if i need a license or whatever to use them for airsofting.
    Cheers!
    Custom Airsoft Engraving Service From £5
    http://forums.zeroin.co.uk/showthrea...66#post1276366

Re: Radios For Dummys (BaoFeng UV-5R)

I'm no expert, but radios that run on the pmr446 frequencies are license free, & are obviously compatible with all other pmr radios, the only downside is their not secured, anybody on the opposing team with a pmr can peruse the channels & sub-channels to eavesdrop on you.
    Any other systems require licensing.

Comment

As Tackle said you would need a licence to run the baofeng's . lots run them with out a licence and I've never heard of any one being prosecuted for it BUT if you were to use them with out , it would be your decision to and you couldn't really complain if you did get pinched or say "oh but A , B & C ran them without a licence !" All said and done there is a way to use them on a PMR but I've never tried it , me and my team mates all use them and as time goes buy more and more players are running them as well so turning in too bit of a mute point really! Lol
      We used ours last yr and the yr before at the GZ wk'nder and they were wonderful, no chatter bleed from other people's radios just us talking to each other , bliss ! Lol .
      From deepest darkest pagan Wales ! The steel wolves !

Comment