Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tokyo Marui VSR-10 G SPEC upgrade issues

Stock GPEC FPS 285 FPS

upgrade parts from ASPUK (I felt this is pertinent as they make their parts - this isn't advertising their parts)

M150 Spring
    VSR EZ Trigger
    VSR Steel Spring Guide
    VSR Steel Cylinder
    VSR Steel Cylinder Head
    VSR High Engagement Hop Lever (B)

Later I bought an additional Laylax SP150 spring, and then an additional M170 spring from ASPUK.

Righto, to start with I am a bit of a novice (or at least I was when I started - now, I feel quite, if not very familiar and confident around a VSR) with modding snipers, so I had my airsoft engineer buddy help me out with all this.

He sat me down and we went through the process of stripping down the VSR and taking out the stock parts, modding the trigger guard for the EZ trigger mech, popping the upgraded parts in and reassembling it all back again.

Once we were happy it was all working, the next day I skirmished with it. I was a little disappointed to find it was 100fps shy of the 500fps it was supposed to be. So I packed it away, and brought it back for examination.

We stripped it down and had a look at it again. I bought a Madbull chronograph to do some home chrono'ing and we went to work.

I also got the ASPUK engineer involved (our discussions are still ongoing) and he gave a few suggestions which we tried out;
    • Strip, clean and re-grease the inside of the cylinder, use either TM Cylinder grease (blue tube) or opt for some thick silicon grease mixed with silicon spray grease.
    • PTFE Tape the cylinder head threads.
    • PTFE Tape about 3-4 wraps around the end of the hop bucking onto the inner barrel to create a better airseal.
    • Lube and or change the Piston O-Ring, various sizes available from Homebase Plumbing section.
    • Clean the inner barrel with cotton wool and water only.