AK

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AK

Not sure if this is the correct place for this thread but here goes....

Basically, i recently purchased a cyma aks-74u and i want to snazz up the wood funiture kit that is on it. This is because its almost bright orange and it looks very cheap.

I was considering using a tea bag to stain the wood to give it a darker, more badass look but im not too sure now.

I also heard that you can dye the wood with ink to get it dark in patches and if done well, it looks brilliant. But if done badly, well you know the rest

Problem is, this is my first time modifying a wood furniture kit and i really do not want to c**k it up and cheap replacement aks-74u wood handguards and not easy to come by.

All i want to know is, has anyone tried any of these techniques? how did it turn out? any other techniques to "pimp" your ak?

Be very greatful if you guys could help,

Thanks you

Jimmy

Re: AK

Take them off and re-varnish. Keep applying more coats untill you get the darkness you want - simples. Did this to one of mine, because wasn't happy with the lighter wood it came with.

EDIT: The one in my avatar isn't the one I re-coated, although thinking about doing the same with it.

Comment

Cheers, seems like a logical way to do it. Will i be able to remove it incase i want to re sell it or is it stuck like it?

Comment

That's the best part - if you're not happy with the outcome, sand it off and retry.

Comment

Aewsome! i think ill have to go with that method, i take it you havent tried any of the other techniques? Ive seen the tea dye method on a ak at UWG and it looks great, dont think you can go back it you c**k it up though :/

Comment

Nope, can't beat the varnish/wood stain method I think... just don't spill any.... not that I did of course *shifty eyes*