Trying to decide ICS M4 or MP5 SD6

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trying to decide ICS M4 or MP5 SD6

Im just getting into airsoft and looking for an all round first gun. Interested in Ground zero woodland and CQB.

I like to get into the thick of the action but still need some distance in woodland.

I am looking at the following two guns and struggling to make a decision.

ICS Automatic Electric Rifle M4A1 Carbine Sportline Series
    ICS Automatic Electric SMG MP5SD6

Any help?

Re: Trying to decide ICS M4 or MP5 SD6

Also interested if anywhere local to Poole or Bournemouth where I can see the two models in person and possibly handle them to compare differences?

Comment

Out the box they will probably perform the same, i.e.; you'll probably get the same amount of range with either.

It really depends on your needs.

The M4 is certainly easier to upgrade internally thanks to the split GB, so if you fancy cracking in open and getting into the meat of the gun, the M4 is the way to go. It also has the advantage of accepting a wide variety of accessories, including handguards and stocks, though ICS is a bit picky about which parts it fits, generally TM-compatible parts will fit, if only with a bit of modding.

The MP5 is a decent all-rounder, and has the advantage of being almost entirely compatible with other parts, but isn't quite as easy to upgrade due to being a standard V2 gearbox.

I haven't used an MP5 in ages, but I do recall the mags being a bit hit-and-miss. Which isn't much of a downside, if you get good ones. Other than that, the choice is largely aesthetic.

Comment

I would say get the MP5 and stick a tightbore barrel in it. Then you have long range for woodland and a nice compact aeg for your CQB needs. To birds with one stone.

I've always found an m4 too big for cqb
        Originally posted by spetsnazdave87
        I've never seen an Aug look so large :p

Comment

Zero One should be able to help you bud

and welcome to airsoft