Chest rig vs belt rig

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chest rig vs belt rig

Hi guys. First proper post here, hoping to get some advice. I did a quick search but nothing much turned up.

I'm just starting out and am wondering about what to buy for my loadout: chest rig vs a belt.

Mostly, I want to make sure that whatever I get won't limit my movement too much. I want to be able to sprint, and to be able to go prone, crawl through undergrowth & bushes, and stuff like that.

It's not clear to me what would be best - what's less likely to get caught on stuff? What's going to flap around more and be annoying if I'm sprinting to cover? Should I go for a crossdraw vest or a thigh holster for the pistol?

I have seen people with gigantic chest rigs that look great but I can tell would be a total pain for my playstyle (foetal though it may be). I rarely see belts full of kit, which makes me wonder if there's some disadvantage I haven't thought of.

So what do you think? Should I go for something like *RETAILER LINK REMOVED*, or something more like the police have?

Thanks in advance!

Edited to add: Forgot to say that I'll be carrying a few high/mid caps for my m4, a pistol and a few pistol mags, a dump bag, and occasionally some pyro.
    Last edited by aribos; 22 July, 2011, 10:14. Reason: Forgot some stuff

Re: Chest rig vs belt rig

I would suggest a chest rig for easy access to mags
    sigpic

Comment

It's horses for courses. If you're going to be crawling through the undergrowth, then I should think a belt (with harnesses to spread the weight evenly) would probably be your best bet. With a belt kit you need to be more brutal about what you take out with you, and what you leave back at the safe zone, simply because you won't have the space to take the kitchen sink.