X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• lipo charging help needed

i am trying to charge a lipo battery with a;

Turnigy 2 to 3 cell Balance/Charger

i have a standard wall plug adaptor that provides the battery charger with the 12v input that it recommends, the charger seems to be working fine, the red power light comes on when there is power and the green charging light comes on when the battery is attached to say it is charging.

i tried to charge a 7.4v 2250mAh 22c battery on it, i measured the voltage before i started it was in cell 1: 3.41, cell 2: 3.32 , total 6.72 on this led voltage display thing i have.

then left it on charge for an hour watching it waiting for the green charging light to go off but nothing, so i turn off the charger and remeasured the voltage and i had gone down to just above 3v is both cells.

my question is, what is going on?
    thanks in advance for any help!

Re: lipo charging help needed

I'm no expert, but I think you may have to keep your finger on the button for a second or two before it actually starts charging, I may be wrong, but worth a try, I vaguely remember a friends charger doing something similar.

Comment

thanks for the reply, here is a picture of the charger, not sure if there is a button?

Comment

Have you connected the deans/tamiya as well as the balance lead? You need both.
        Signature Removed

Comment

Just leave it on untill the green light either flashes or goes out cant remember what one.

Those chargers charge at 0.5a through the balace tab alone, incredibly slow when you consider you can vary that upto about 2a on something like a B6 with both balance tab and output leads connected.

Just remember it has to both charge and balance through those three thin wires leading to the balance tab.

Have patience...lol

Comment

If you put a charge through anything to increase its output voltage, then it isn't going to decrease over an hour.