Need to detune...advice please!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need to detune...advice please!

My ICS CXP is a bit hot and tested at 398fps on saturday which meant it stayed in the bag....this was on .20g bb so obviously a heavier grade would help a bit, but what is the best way to detune it and bring it down. I was at a particularly low threshold site of 328fps but hey.

Any advice appreciated as im no tech expert and dont want to rip it apart and balls it up

thanks

Re: Need to detune...advice please!

Heavier rounds to fool a chrono? BAD BAD MAN!

Now, with that said...

The ICS CXP should be fairly straight forward to de-tune, it'll be a case of pulling the upper gearbox out, opening that up and changing the spring for an M90. Just to be on the safe side. You should be looking at around 300fps with an M90. My ICS M4 has a new M100 in it and chrono'd at 348fps which is just under my sites limits.
    The trouble with quotes on the internet is that it's difficult to discern whether or not they are genuine. - Abraham Lincoln

Comment

Oh... Also... (Double post, sorry...)

The ICS split gearbox is nice to work on. Undo the allen key'd screw on the back to loosen the spring guide, undo the screws holding the gearbox together. Best to work on a flat surface for this, a desk, table or even the floor. Possibly not a carpet though...

Take it nice and slow and ease the halves apart, holding the cylinder down and I always keep my fingers over the spring guide, just so it doesn't kill the dog or anything. Once you get the 2 halves apart, ease the spring guide up and out, letting the tension off the spring.

It would probably be best to get your site techie or an experience mate to do this though, as it took me nearly 9 months before I dared to open a gearbox and I only did that because I couldn't afford to pay my techie to do it for me...