Li-Po

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Li-Po

Im looking at changing all my batteries to Li-po, just curious as to whether I have to run a mosfet? Will the increased voltage errode the trigger contacts or anything?

Im not very good with electrics :D

Thanks,
    Tom.

Re: Li-Po

Hi, well the voltage that a battery gives is proportional to the draw on it, ie you can get 100 volts out of a AA battery but only for a second then its dead :P.
    but yeah it will wear out your contacts a bit faster than standard batteries although they wear out contacts too, much more so at high loads as the peak draw response on a lipo is far quicker than a standard battery, especially as its only powering a brushless motor ( ever noticed you rate of fire increase slightly the longer you hold the trigger down?).
    A mosfet would sort the problem out as all the scorching damage to trigger contacts is done by arching (lightning) between the contacts when they are close to being open or closed (just before making 'true' contact when you pull the trigger and also just after you break the circuit when you take your finger off the trig).
    Although a mosfet would probably break eventually too as nothing lasts forever but replacing one is as simple as changing a lightbulb, youd just need to cut the old one out and solder a new one in (dont have to take the mechbox out at all.
    Your trigger response would be very fast though as i mentioned earlyr about the peak draw response being faster, the combination of a lipo and a mosfet means that your motor gets full load almost instantly, instead of the mechanical system taking a bit longer to get 'up to speed'.
    perhaps you should brew some coffee and hit the net and do some research?
    also dont forget that lipos need a different kind of charger too.

im thinking of modding up my mp7's to lipo/mosfets at some point too :P