Internal upgrades help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Internal upgrades help

Hello I'm new to airsoft and brought an MP5 it's metal internals and part plastic shell. Gun fires really well.

Have seen on a lot of guns for sale on this site a great list of upgrades and just wondered if anyone could explain what they do? May help a lot of other users also.

Thanks

Re: Internal upgrades help

What do you meant 'part plastic shell? the gearbox shell is plastic? or the gun?

Upgrades:

-Motor
    Ok so this is basically what makes your gearbox tick. Your battery provides it with current and when you pull the trigger, the circuit is completed and your motor will turn your gears. There are two main types of upgrade motor.

High torque- this is a powerful motor and does not have as much speed as a high speed motor, however, it reaches its top speed faster than a high speed motor, these are good for guns with powerful springs or guns that are used predominantly on semi and you want good trigger response.

High speed- Basically the opposite of a high torque, so not as much power, but it has a good rof (rate of fire), but takes longer to reach its top speed and so would be practical in a lower power set-ups.

-Gears
    So these are what are tuned by the motor and in turn pull back the piston. There are quite a few different types of gears for different set-ups and you want to choose the right one for what you are aiming for. Also, there are 4 different types of gear in your gearbox. These are:
    -Pinion gear
    -Bevel gear
    -Spur gear
    -Sector gear

High speed- These usually come with ratios before them and the most common one is “13:1”, the numbers mean how many turns of the bevel gear it takes to turn the sector gear, so for 13:1 gears the bevel gear has to rotate 13 times to rotate the sector gear once and thus pull the piston back once. The lover the number on the left, the higher speed the gears will be.