Motor just spins?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Motor just spins?

I got an old Dboys M4 which has got some damage externally, but I first tested it today and from the sounds of it the motor is just spinning. Gear box isn't connection im guessing, since i have no experience with stripping weapons or internal work

Any advice people can give would be appreciated

Does it sound like its just whiting, or making a horrible grinding noise

Comment

Re: Motor just spins?

hmm it does sound quite horrible. like a high pitch chainsaw

Comment

Could be several things. The pinion gear on the motor may not be properly engaging with the bevel gear causing the horrible sound. Alternately the piston might've stripped. When you shoot the gun, do BBs get pushed into the hop chamber but not shot?

Comment

Could be a lot of things , spur gear probably !!

Comment

Gonna have to start taking it apart ime afraid or to a techie in a shop if you can't.

Comment

Originally posted by baddbaz View Post
              Could be a lot of things , spur gear probably !!
              I've never seen a problem with the spur gear ever, only the bevel, sector and piston... The main problem in the V2 is adjusting the free floating motor so that it engages properly.

Comment

can't take it to any of the shops i know unfortunately because its a crappy chinese make =/
                will take it apart over the weekend hopefully if u can advise me on what to look for

Comment

I only ever had one pinion gear issue. The gear sat on a perfectly round shaft on the motor. When the grub screw worked loosed the mor span within the gear. (now most of them are "key'd" to the motor with a flat edge or similar)

Motor not engaged with the gearbox correctly
                  Pinion gear loose on motor
                  Piston stripped teeth
                  Gearbox stripped teeth