Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cleaning AEG Gearboxes - advise

Afternoon all,

I've always cleaned out my barrel and external parts after a skirmish.. but want to learn the best ways of cleaning out a gearbox properly without damaging it etc.

Obviously, I know the cylinder parts rely on a vacuum; so I'm a bit worried about just stripping it, cleaning it with hot soapy water, lubing it back up and putting it back together.

I have a G&P M4, so what is the correct way to strip it, clean it and re-lube it so it'll be nice, clean and bootiful! I also want to know what oils & grease you guys reccomend and where you reccomend putting it!

I'm a newbie when it comes to opening up gearboxes etc as I usually let others do it for me :P but, I want to learn now!

Any advise would be fab, or links to good advise online somewhere via PM etc.

Thanks in advance,
    Aaron

Re: Cleaning AEG Gearboxes - advise

I'd start on something less important like an old gearbox to check if you're capable of stripping one down...

Then just a wipe down will do no need for soap and water, clean every gearbox part with some kitchen roll (not the dusty stuff, decent stuff) until there is no grease anywhere (even between gear teeth).

Then re-lube upon rebuilding with silicon grease for metal-on-metal parts, and silicon oil for seals and plastics.

Just make sure everything goes back together properly, special care to be taken with shims (count em off, keep them in corresponding stacks, count em back on).

Have you got a mate who can sort if it fails/check it all out after?
    Originally posted by Walter Gropius
    If your contribution has been vital there will always be somebody to pick up where you left off, and that will be your claim to immortality.

Comment