Ics motor issues

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ics motor issues

Ok I bought an ics m4 as a base rifle for my diemaco project a while back and iv got issue, I'm new to ics and want to know if anyone that knows there ics's better than me can help.

Basically after I got it (new) I started work on the project and it never fired a round till I was done, one of the mods I did was to fit a storm grip. It seems that the ics don't like the storm grip and it rejects it's motor (standard ics 3000), by that I mean you think it's set up ok but within a few 100 rounds it spits it out and it wont connect, then the pistol grip needs taking off and re fitting befor the motor will fit again. I guessed the ics (being out and unique everywhere elce) didnt like the storm grip. I bought a mag pull moe grip to get over this and tried again...the same problem, the motor just dosnt fit right, I even tried a mauri motor and its the same deal.

Iv checked all the gears and the bevel has been chewed up quite a bit but not enough to stop the motor seating. I even put the stock pistol grip and motor back in place but it wouldn't engage, the adjustment in the plate wasn't enough.

Are ics gears at a slightly different angle to normal and that's why an after Market grip wouldn't fit right?, should I change all the gears to another brand and try again?

It's also developed a miss fire on single to, where the selector is set to single and it will full auto if the triggers pulled slowly ? (I havnt looked into this yet, just want to know if the ics does anything that can develop this)

Cheers

Re: Ics motor issues

Pulling the trigger slowly in semi auto will allow it to fire full auto as the cutoff lever doesn't function until the trigger is fully pulled back.
    Have you actually adjusted the screw on the base plate for the storm grip? It sounds more like you are putting the motor in and it holds itself under friction.
    section 24 of the 1968 Act