Wires getting so hot!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wires getting so hot!

Hi I have a g&g combat machine, and recently upgraded the spring (m110) and the motor to a high speed g&p m120 high speed motor i believe. After installing the motor everthing was fine. But after installing the m110 it sounded real cranky like it was low battery and all the wires got real hot, then the fuse blew. Do you have any idea what was wrong? If you need any other info to help feel free to inbox me or Thanks Rhys (P.s i was using a 8.4v Ni-Cad)

Re: Wires getting so hot!

Sounds like there is too much load on the motor with the new spring. Or could something possibly be out of place when you rebuilt the gearbox?

Comment

The motor will draw too much current trying to compress that rate of spring. A high torque motor would work better without electrical overload.

High speed motors work best with lower spring rates.
      Scouring the country for the best Airsoft sites

Comment

The M120 motor draws a lot more current both unladen and particularly when under load than the CM mot0r it replaced. In order for you to get the best performance from that new motor you need to ensure it gets ths amps it wants. A highjer capacity wiring loom (16awg +) with a MOSFET will work wonders. You will also need to ensure that the battery pack is able to sustain the higher amp draw. A large type NIMH 3000mah+ as a minimum, or high discharge/capacity LIPO.
        The M110 further increases the load and thus amp draw. Without a FET in this situation the switch contacts will be wearing much faster and dumping any expecte4d performance advantage in the form of waste heat.
        dsgdreamteam

Comment