Fluctuations in FPS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fluctuations in FPS

Hey everyone, I'm relatively new to air soft forums and therefore am not sure if this is in the correct place although here is my problem.

I have a Magpul G&P M4. Recently my gearbox has been properly shimmed and had the piston head and o ring replaced. lately on shooting my AEG I will be shooting at 170 FPS several times and then my FPS will rise up to around 315 FPS. This is more noticeable when using full auto. The first 5/6 shots could be low FPS but the rest are around the 315 mark (which is what I used to shoot at consistently).

Does anyone know what might have caused this? I've tried a leak check on the hopup by placing the paper over the hop up feed hole.

Many thanks!!

DNew.

Re: Fluctuations in FPS

Hmmm strange one, I had something similar a while back and found that the cylinder had dried out just enough so that the piston didn't cycle fully before re engaging so low fps, (didn't travel the full length giving the full stroke before the gears pulled it back for the next shot) solved it by regressing the cylinder and orings in the piston and all sweet again.

When it was serviced they did lube the new parts enough, and relube the inside of the cylinder enough???
    Only thing really I can think of as anything to do with the hop area your still get higher (more consistent) fps but crap range.
    sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by Simon77 View Post
      Hmmm strange one, I had something similar a while back and found that the cylinder had dried out just enough so that the piston didn't cycle fully before re engaging so low fps, (didn't travel the full length giving the full stroke before the gears pulled it back for the next shot) solved it by regressing the cylinder and orings in the piston and all sweet again.

When it was serviced they did lube the new parts enough, and relube the inside of the cylinder enough???