Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Zero One Ads

Collapse

Help fixing a gearbox (or repairing, advice needed)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help fixing a gearbox (or repairing, advice needed)

Hey all,

Getting back into airsofting after a few years and I pulled out my old DBoys full metal HK416 and it's completely buggered.

I've ripped the whole thing apart and something is playing up with the gearbox and/or hopup and basically my BB's are dribbling out. They shoot about 30 feet before dropping and go about 40 feet overall at a push.

I'm looking to either buy a complete gearbox or rebuild this one. My issue with rebuilding is

1. I've never done it before (although I'm mechanically minded and I've watched about 20 hours of YouTube videos. I'm convinced I can do it successfully.)
    2. I've got no idea what is and isn't working in the gearbox so I'm inclined to replace everything.

Problem I'm having is it appears to cost almost as much as a new gun to buy the bits to rebuild, and a similar amount for a complete gearbox.

I've found this JG V2 complete gearbox at ***** for about £70 with an M100 spring.

Is there anything inherently wrong with this gearbox, or should I be better just buying all the bits (at a cost of roughly £130 I've worked it out) and building it myself?

I'm looking to get the best value for money in fixing this gun. Option 3 would be scrap it and buy a new gun, however the body of this gun is VERY nice and it's entirely metal so seems a shame to waste it.

Thanks in advance for any and all help offered.

Ben
    Last edited by sj_asc; 11 April, 2016, 16:41. Reason: Retailer rule

Re: Help fixing a gearbox (or repairing, advice needed)