Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do i rewire to deans connectors?

Hello,
    As the title, how do i rewire my classic army m15a4 to deans connectors...I need to for a pait of batteries i have just bought!
    atm, it is rocking the hold school Large Tamiya, but due to it being a crane stock, its hard enough to connect the battery as it is, due to the wiring being to short.

I took the gun apart, (well, apart from the GB as i have no experience!) and could not find any way to re wire it, as i thought their was a mini tamiya somewhere outside the gb, as shown in one of the Issues of AI (Their MP5 Project if anyone remembers!). This threw me entirely, as the wiring i have for it has a mini tamiya on one end, and the deans on the other!

Now, i have two options,
    A) Find out how the heck you re-wire a gun.
    B) Solder on deans connectors, and saw down the stock tube so it only has 3 settings (I never get past that anyway!)

or the more expensive route i really dont want to go down!
    Pay someone else to do it for me!
    "Happy those who seize your children and smash them against a rock." Psalms 137:9

Re: How do i rewire to deans connectors?

Cut off the existing connector and replace by soldering on a deans.

Have a search on youtube, there's plenty of how-to guides for soldering them. One tip that jfox posted a while back is to connect the two halves of the deans before you solder them as it keeps them stable. If you don't the heat softens the plastic making the blades go out of position (I wrecked 2 or 3 pairs this way!).
    sigpic

Comment

Why not make a Tamiya-Deans converter? Id recommend that rather than chopping your existing connection from your gearbox, should you go wrong.
      Originally posted by Artekus
      It looks like I'll need to brush up on my fieldcraft/untutored thrashing about in the undergrowth

Comment

If he's not got enough room for the tamiya, how will he fit in a tamiya plus a deans?
        sigpic