Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WE Scar (latest version) and CO2?

Hi,

Sorry if I'm asking questions that have all been asked before but I'm new to this and quite a stupid person!

I've just bought a WE gbb Scar with a gas mag and this is a problem because winter is here. I know I should have waited till summer but I couldn't, I was just too excited about the kick and it is a very, very cool gun.

I've read a fair amount that seems to suggest that co2 does not suffer anywhere as much as green/134a gas during winter so I'm very tempted to throw mr wallet at a whole bunch of v expensive co2 mags.

The things that are stopping me are fairly obvious so I wondered if anyone had any thoughts regarding -

1) Has anyone got first hand experience of co2 in the winter and found it to be a huge advantage over green/134a?

I.e. if its very cold my KJ works 229 will freeze and vent all the gas from the mag after 5-8 rapid shots on 134a but will go approx 14-18 shots on green. So does co2 give significantly more shots before freezing than green gas?

2) "CO2 kills guns" is something I've read in lots of places... WE claim the scar is built for co2 and should suffer no problems, yet there are plenty of pictures of the early model Scars which have blown the recoil spring through the stock mount on co2. This apparently has been beefed up in the later (mines a spanking new one) models and I have read there is a metal version of the stock mount plate due out soon.

So has anyone used CO2 in the WE scar for any length of time with/without faults developing??